More Trouble For Iheanacho As Guardiola Removes His Name From Man City Champions League Squad

Manchester City have submitted their squad for the knockout stage of the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League.

The 21-man list includes two new additions from the Group Stage, with Gabriel Jesus and Yaya Toure both being made available for the remainder of the competition.

Ilkay Gundogan’s continued recovery from a cruciate knee ligament injury sees him removed from the list, along with Kelechi Iheanacho, though the striker remains eligible for selection.

The Nigerian now meets the requirements to be named on UEFA’s ‘List B’, which allows clubs to register an unlimited number of players, providing they fulfil the following criteria:

Born on, or after, 1 January 1995; and
Has been eligible to play for the club for any uninterrupted period of two years since his 15th birthday.

The likes of Tosin Adarabioyo and Angus Gunn – who have previously been named in matchday squads during this European campaign – are similarly still available for selection by virtue of being named on ‘List B’.


The submitted squad is as follows:


Claudio Bravo, Willy Caballero


Bacary Sagna, Vincent Kompany, Pablo Zabaleta, Aleksandar Kolarov, Gael Clichy, John Stones, Nicolas Otamendi


Fernando, Raheem Sterling, Yaya Toure, Jesus Navas, Kevin De Bruyne, Fabian Delph, Leroy Sane, David Silva, Fernandinho


Nolito, Sergio Aguero, Gabriel Jesus

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: